Sue Codere Kelly1

Michigan Reading Association
Empowering all Michigan Students and Educators through Literacy

Kent Reading Council

Mission: To provide literacy professional development, networking, and resources to educators.

This year we are coordinating with MRA's theme "Reading All Stars". As teachers we know it takes a team effort to facilitate students' literacy development. This year we are offering professional development focusing on a team perspective. From family literacy, to integrating technology across the curriculum, this year we have it all!



Membership Information:
$45 - Regular Membership
$35 - First Year Teacher
$20 - Full-time Undergrad Student or Student Teacher
$20 - Retired Teacher
For membership questions contact Jane Mead at



All events start with registration and dinner at 4:30 in the Kent ISD rooms

Presentations: 5:00 - 6:15


Thursday, September 15

Kurt Stroh

Teacher/Librarian at Northview Public Schools

Is Your School Library Boring or Bustling?


Thursday, October 13

Cris Tovani

Nationally known consultant, teacher & reading specialist
Author of "Do I Really Have to Teach Reading?" and "I Read It, but I Don't Get It, So What Do They Really Know?"

Monday, November 7

Andrew Steinman

Kent ISD Education Technology Consultant

Personalized Learning


Thursday, December 1

Liz Storey & Pam Page

GVSU professors and literacy experts

The latest and greatest in children's and young adult literature

~ Cornucopia Books will be available for purchase ~


Tuesday, January 10

Angela Morris

Kent ISD grant writer

Grant Sources, Grant Writing and Fundraising for Literacy


Wednesday, February 15

Dr. Lisa Rivard

Language Arts Consultant, past MRA President & children's book author

Fall in Love with Writing


Tuesday, April 11

Wendi Vogel

Kent ISD Science Consultant


Mark Raffler

Kent ISD ELA/Social Studies Consultant

Supporting Early Literacy Development and Science Instruction


President - Andrea Severns - 
President-Elect - Amelia Bean - 
Secretary - Camille Townshend -
Treasurer - Denise Dishon -
Membership Chair - Jane Mead -