Sue Codere Kelly1

Michigan Reading Association
 
Empowering all Michigan Students and Educators through Literacy

MRA Local Councils

The Michigan Reading Association is broken down into 10 regions across the state of Michigan, serviced by our 10 Region Representatives. MRA works with local councils in these regions to provide support and professional development to members in every part of the state. For information on a local council in your region, please see below or contact your local MRA representative.

local council map

Guidelines & Bylaws

Forms & Resources

Honor Council Information

Newsletters & Updates

Awards & Grants

Leadership 2016

MRA Promotional Material

 

REGION 1 - Alger, Chippewa, Delta, Luce, Mackinac, Marquette, Menominee, and Schoolcraft counties

Kleinpaste AndreaMRA Region 1 Representative: Andrea Kleinpaste
Term: 2016-2017
kleinpa@nice.k12.mi.us

Local Councils in Region 1:
Marquette Alger Reading Council
President: Melanie Reaves
mreaves@nmu.edu 
Membership: Lynette Suckow
lynette.suckow@gmail.com

 REGION 2 - Antrim, Benzie, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Lake, Leelenau, Mason, Manistee, Mecosta, Missaukee, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, and Wexford counties

hammond barbMRA Region 2 Representative: Barb Hammond
Term: 2015-2018
barbhammond69@gmail.com

Local Councils in Region 2:
Northern Michigan Reading Council
President: Natasha Bailey
nbailey@harborps.org 

REGION 3 - Ionia, Kent, Montcalm, Muskegon, and Ottawa counties

Bean AmeliaMRA Region 3 Representative: Amelia Bean
Term: 2016-2019
abean@rockfordschools.org

Local Councils in Region 3:

Kent Reading Council
President: Andrea Severns
aseverns@egrps.org
Membership: Jane Mead
mjbmead@gmail.com

Western Dunes Reading Council
President/Treasurer: Marcia K. Klemp
marciaklemp47@gmail.com 

REGION 4 - Arenac, Bay, Genesee, Gratiot, Huron, Lapeer, Midland, Saginaw, Sanilac, Shiawassee, and Tuscola counties

Brendel CortneyMRA Region 4 Representative: Cortney Brendel
Term: 2015-2018
cbrendel@lapeerschools.org

Local Councils in Region 4:
Flint Area Reading Council
President: Joanne LeBlanc
jleblanc@geneseeisd.org

 

REGION 5 - Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Hillsdale, Kalamazoo, St. Joseph, and Van Buren counties

Cooper Mary newMRA Region 5 Representative: Mary Cooper
Term: 2015-2018
coopermary29@gmail.com 

Local Councils in Region 5:
Tri-County Reading Council
President: Lacy Payne
lpayne@bridgmanschools.com 
Treasurer: Mary Cooper
coopermary29@gmail.com 

Southwest Michigan Reading Council
President: Gayle Green
greeng5@michigan.gov
Membership: Celeste Shelton-Harris
a.celesteshelton@gmail.com 

REGION 6 - Clinton, Eaton, Ingham, Jackson, Livingston, and Washtenaw counties

Adolphson headshotMRA Region 6 Representative: Julile Adolphson
Term: 2016-2019
julie.adolphson@gmail.com

 Local Councils in Region 6:
South Central Michigan Reading Council

President: Jenny Sanford
jenny.sanford@springportschools.net

Treasurer: Jessica Stoker
jessica.stoker@springportschools.net

REGION 7 - Macomb, Oakland, and St. Clair counties

Ulewicz LoriMRA Region 7 Representative: Lori Ulewicz
Term: 2014-2017
ulewiczlori@gmail.com 

Local Councils in Region 7:

Oakland County Reading Council
President: Colleen Mestdagh
colleenmestdagh@gmail.com
Membership: Kia Zager
kiazager3@gmail.com 

 

REGION 8 - Lenawee, Monroe, and Wayne counties

Campbell TamaraMRA Region 8 Representative: Tamara Campbell
Term: 2016-2019
tcampbell@summit-academy.com

Local Councils in Region 8: 
Wayne County Reading Council
President: Milka Hoss
mhoss@summit-academy.com 

REGION 9 - Baraga, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keweenaw, and Ontonagon counties

Billie BethMRA Region 9 Representative: Elizabeth Billie
Term: 2016-2017
billiee@wmschools.org

Local Councils in Region 9:
Copper Country Reading Council
President: Evelyn Johnson
evjohnso@mtu.edu 

Membership: Eliza Fujita
liz@mtu.edu

 

REGION 10 - Alcona, Alpena, Cheboygan, Clare, Crawford, Gladwin, Iosco, Isabella, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, and Roscommon counties

romanowski amyMRA Region 10 Representative: Amy Romanowski
Term: 2016-2019
aromanowski@harrisonschools.com 

Local Councils in Region 10:
Clare-Gladwin County Reading Council
President: Heather Jensen
hjensen@harrisonschools.com